After what seems to have been a quick year with LifeWay Christian Resources, I am beginning a new role this week. I’ve been very thankful for the team which adopted me so quickly in Leadership & Adult Publishing in 2008. They are great people who sincerely love Christ and deeply desire to see His church mature. So to them, I say THANKS!

On December 1, my job will change to a position recently created within LifeWay Research. I am excited to take on the new work of Director of Ministry Development.

New responsibilities. The title is representative of the job: developing new ministries and strengthening existing ones for our company/ministry. But, many of my friends have asked for a more detailed rundown of my new role entails so here goes:

Internally: leading (and co-leading) LifeWay matrix efforts for cross-organizational efforts toward maximizing the leverage of LifeWay ministries, manage special initiatives for LifeWay Research, and manage publishing and communications for LifeWay Research.

Externally: develop consulting relationships for and within new paradigms, develop increased relationships across the Evangelical community for LifeWay, and speak on behalf of the initiatives for LifeWay.

Working with friends. Perhaps one of the best things about this new role is the opportunity to work with my friends. Specifically, I will be working with Ed Stetzer. He and I have forged a great friendship and I’m looking forward to the days ahead as we work for the good of the church through our responsibilities at LifeWay Research.

My vision. The last few years of life and ministry have served to remove old paradigms in my life and build a new one. Specifically, it is called “missional” but if you’ve heard the term then you know it is is not always that simple. One of my greatest hopes for the position I will now fill is that I can encourage, provoke, and lead more believers, pastors, planters, and leaders to see themselves as missional in this world.

The vision for my life is to influence church leaders to engage their churches in global disciple-making for God’s glory and man’s good. If my life can be spent on leading the leaders to lead their friends in a thriving manner of missional living – then it has been worth the effort.

So, on Tuesday, a new journey begins. I hope to see you along the way.

