Oooh – books. I am probably too obsessed with them. But I love books. And watching everyone’s “Best of…” lists made me think of the books I have read in recent history.

I thought of writing up my favorites of 2009 but it would only be a slightly different version of many other lists. So, instead, here are the books I’ve read but plan on reading again. Some are new. Some are old. But all have helped me in one way or another.

1. The Prodigal God by Timothy Keller. To keep me reminded of who I can be and, without care, who I might become.

2. Dracula by Bram Stoker. So I will know what an enthralling tale reads like.

3. Jonathan Edwards, Evangelist by John Gerstner. Because my desire to have a great mind must always be in submission to being on a greater mission.

4. The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. This masterpiece of literature helps me see how easily the perspective of a utilitarian life can drain the wonder out of living.

5. The Path to Celtic Prayer by Calvin Miller. Because Calvin Miller is a great writer, the Celts were a fascinating people, and prayer is a wondrous subject

6. Planting Missional Churches by Ed Stetzer. One: he’s my friend. Two: he’s my boss. Three: I hope to be on a church planting team again in the future.

7. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader and The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis. They are my favorite stories from The Chronicles of Narnia. Love, redemption, and fulfillment all wrapped into stories for a kid like me.

8. The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells. The transparency of the title character is more about his soul than his body. His invisibility is an unavoidable mirror.

9. Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders. So I can be challenged (again and again) about what true leadership looks like.

10. Let the Nations be Glad by John Piper. The consistency of God’s greatness is always amazing. God’s invitation for us to participate in that work is humbling.

So tell me – what are the books you go back to again and again?

